Even a Loving God Has Things He Hates


The Bible teaches about God’s extraordinary love for humankind, leading some people to view Him as only and always loving. But God has many things He hates that we all must be aware of to please Him.

Is God only and always a loving God?

“But you, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.”

–Psalm 86:15

A good analogy for how God views his creation is to think of a parent. Most parents love their children unconditionally, but that does not mean that their children do not sometimes do things they hate. To be clear, they do not hate their children, only some things they do. This is how God views humankind.

The Bible says God is good, merciful, kind, compassionate, forgiving, and loving.

“For you, O Lord, are good and forgiving, abounding in steadfast love to all who call upon you.”

–Psalm 86:5

Like human parents, God only wants what is best for His creation. Likewise, there comes a time for “tough love” when God can no longer tolerate wrong thoughts, words, and actions.

What does God hate?

“There are six things that the Lord hates, seven that are an abomination to him: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked plans, feet that make haste to run to evil, a false witness who breathes out lies, and one who sows discord among brothers.”

–Proverbs 6:16-19

What God hates is sin.

You hear people say things like: “Hate the sin, not the sinner.”

Some people think this phrase comes from the Bible – but it does not. God hates sinners, as the following verse states:

“Boastful ones will not stand before you; you hate all those who practice wickedness.”

–Psalm 5:5

The “6 things God hates” is often compared to the so-called “seven deadly sins,” which do not come from the Bible, although they do come from Christian tradition out of Roman Catholic theology, according to Britannica. They were first enumerated by Pope Gregory I in the sixth century, then elaborated further in the 13 century by St. Thomas Aquinas.

The 7 deadly sins

The seven deadly sins are 1. pride (vainglory). 2. greed (covetousness). 3. lust (illicit sexual desire). 4. envy. 5. gluttony (which includes drunkenness). 6. anger (wrath). 7. sloth (laziness).

Overcoming the 7 deadly sins

Each of the deadly sins (or things God hates) can be overcome, according to tradition, by the practice of the seven corresponding virtues. The seven virtues are 1. humility. 2. charity. 3. chastity (celibacy). 4. gratitude. 5. temperance (self-control, moderation). 6. patience. 7. diligence.

God wants us to hate sin as well.

“O you who love the Lord, hate evil! He preserves the lives of his saints; he delivers them from the hand of the wicked.”

–Psalm 97:10

The Bible tells us everyone sins.

“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,”

–Romans 3:23

We cannot have a chance of being forgiven of our sins until, like God, we also hate sin.

The difference between two types of sinners:

“Repent therefore, and turn again, that your sins may be blotted out,”

–Acts 3:19

(A) Those who have no intention of changing and continue to engage in sinful acts and, therefore, God cannot offer forgiveness.

(B) Those who God will offer forgiveness of their sins because they have repented, are remorseful, and make efforts to stop sinning, apologizing to God and showing humility.